Monash Student Shade Zahrai Awarded LEE Future Business Council Scholarship

Monash Business School and The Future Business Council (FBC) have awarded student Shade Zahrai the inaugural Leadership and Executive Education (LEE) Future Business Council Scholarship.

The LEE Future Business Council Scholarship provides a Monash Business School (MBS) student with financial support and the opportunity to participate on the FBC Board by serving as a co-opted committee member during their first year and a director in their second, offering the unique opportunity for the recipient to experience organisational governance and to immerse themselves in future business thinking.

L-R: James Wright (CEO, FBCl), Shade Zahrai (MBA student and scholarship recipient), Alison Rowe (Chair, FBC), Richard Hall (Deputy Dean, LEE), Patrick Butler (Program Director, Monash MBA Programs). Source: Monash

According to a school, Ms Zahrai stood out during the selection process due to a combination of her outstanding academic and work history and her previous awards and recognition, including the ‘Women of Influence’ award presented to Ms Zahrai by Westpac in 2016, and additionally her achievements promoting equity and social justice.

“Like the Future Business Council, Monash Business School is committed to addressing future challenges for businesses in Australia and globally,” said Monash Business School Deputy Dean, Leadership, and Executive Education Professor Richard Hall.

FBC and MBS stated they are both confident that Ms Zahrai will use the opportunity to develop her leadership potential to contribute positively to the FBC board and advance the organisation’s mission within the business community.

The Scholarship is a key component of the strong working partnership between MBS and the FBC, jointly fostering the advancement of Australian society through strong sustainable and ethical business.

FBC said it was looking forward to working with Shade Zahrai and continuing its shared commitment to next generation business with the Monash Business School.