Australia’s Best and Brightest MBAs Set To Gather For Graduate Management Awards

MBA Australasia (MBAus), the peak body for MBA students and graduates in Australia, has released the list of finalists for 2022 Graduate Management Awards to be held in Brisbane on September 22.

The MBA awards provide recognition to outstanding members of the MBA community, and shine a spotlight on them, their career, and their actions. This is an opportunity for outstanding business and management graduates to be recognised, and will bring together the most talented alumni, universities, and colleges from around the Australasia region.

This year’s awards are being held in conjunction with the 2022 MBA Expo. The MBA Expo, proudly presented by MBA News Australia, will visit Sydney (Wednesday, 14 September)Brisbane (Thursday, 22 September) and Melbourne (Tuesday, 27 September).

The finalists in each of the categories are:

Most Outstanding MBA Graduate Award
David Herbert from The University of Western Australia
Kaitlyn Rafter from QUT Business School
Peter Butko from CQUniversity
Scott Young from Torrens University Australia

Community Impact Award
Andrew (Drew) Hebbron, from Griffith University
Tyrone Bean, from The University of Queensland
Will Hetherington, from The University of Queensland

Most Inspirational MBA Lecturer Award
Cameron Turner, from The University of Queensland
Deepa Mathew, from Torrens University Australia
Noal Atkinson, from CQUniversity

Innovation & Entrepreneurship Award
Andreas Ramm & Mikael Heinonen (Collabaloop Project), from QUT Business School
Curt Plumer, from Torrens University Australia
Hamoun Aria, from Curtin University
Tim Horsford, from Griffith University

MBAus is the peak body for MBA students and graduates in Australasia – a not-for-profit organisation with over 40 years of history of supporting students and graduates of management disciplines. MBAus’s mission is to promote the standing and enhance the value of MBA qualifications, with their annual Graduate Management Awards a key event.

Ross Barclay, Director of MBAus and co-host of the GMA, said: “We’re excited to be able to announce the finalists and thrilled to be able to present awards to this year’s winners in person at the Awards Ceremony in September.”

“The quality of applicants has been incredibly high and many very worthy entrants missed out on being finalists due to the high standard.”

Tickets for the Awards event are available HERE.

GMA 2022 winners will be in good company, including past winners Siobhan Coster (Innovation & Entrepreneurship Award 2021) who has recently raised $3m investment to commercialise her formula replicating breast milk protein, and Taylor Hawkins (Community Impact Award 2021), MD of Foundations for Tomorrow, recently participating in and facilitating multiple sessions at the World Economic Forum’s Annual Meeting in Davos earlier this month.

Full details about the MBA award categories, eligibility, and submission requirements can be found at

Ben Ready
Ben Ready founded MBA News in 2014 and is the Managing Editor. He is a former business and finance journalist with Australian Associated Press (AAP) and Dow Jones Newswires in London. Ben completed his MBA in 2012 and was awarded the QUT GMAA Entrepreneurship Prize. He is also the founder and Managing Director of RGC Media & Mktng (